Guest Post: Beginner’s Luck Fudge-Up

Thanks to Ashley for an awesome fudge recipe! I was a bit surprised to see egg in there – despite having enthusiastically sensory-evaluated the fudge myself, when I read the recipe through I kind of imagined the result to be chocolate-chip scrambled eggs! But that’s just silly because, as a colleague pointed out, egg is used in those fudge-y chopped-marie-biscuit squares that one often finds for sale on the counter at Spar. A friend was also intrigued by the use egg so did a bit of research and found a similar (if not the same) recipe with a few pictures to boot. 

This fudge is divine – nice and firm, and then it melts in the mouth, plus it contains my most favourite thing in the whole world ever, even more favourite than alpacas (because I think they look like cake pops) and cake pops (because I think they look like alpacas). The first sentence I ever constructed was a request for a bottle of Milo, and it’s still a weakness several hundred years later. And even better – the egg contributes protein! Atkins-dieters the world over – rejoice! Whoop Whoop!

words to live by!

“The day started out sunny, perfect. Why would I ruin it by attempting fudge for the first time? Because I thought it was a good idea. And it was an especially good idea when it meant that I could bribe my way into my boyfriend’s good books with the awesome chocolaty deliciousness of Milo fudge. Muhahahaha.

Well, as my kitchen escapades go, it was quite messy. How I managed to mess egg all over a counter when only one egg was involved, is beyond even me.

It started with the recipe hunting. Which took an hour and a half (the length of the movie Rise of the Guardians. iBurst was slow that day. . . ) I knew it existed somewhere in my mailbox, but ended up googling it. Sigh

Firstly I melted the butter (¾ cup), nervously attempting to get the other ingredients ready. Chucked in the tin of condense milk and 500g of icing sugar. The recipe said castor sugar, but the packet I bought mysteriously turned into icing sugar since I bought it (I have a slip to back me up on this)

But, not being a person to let a stupid little recipe decide for me what to put in, I continued with the icing sugar, making a note of whom to blame for it if it failed miserably.

The recipe says that it should be stirred until it has a ‘lovely smooth texture’. I was mildly surprised when indeed ‘lovely smooth’ was the perfect description for the mixture.  Note that this was done on low-ish heat (For people whose stove top buttons range from L to 8, it was somewhere around 3).

After this, take your pot off the heat and add egg wash. For those who are uneducated in baker’s jargon (as I am), egg wash is eggs that are scrambled with some sort of liquid (water in this case). This egg wash needs one egg.

Mix 3 heaped tablespoons of cocoa in a cup of boiling water. I used a tablespoon big enough to feed a baby elephant with. Then add your ¾ cup of Milo and cocoa powder mix into your pot.

Whether your pot should be on the stove or not when the chocolaty stuff is mixed in, the recipe does not state. I did it off the stove.

Lastly add a pinch of salt and a teaspoon of vanilla and stir.

Stir some more.

The recipe states that the mixture should be on high heat for 10 minutes and shouldn’t ‘over boil’

As this does not clarify much, and lacks pictures and notes and examples, I got a bit panicky, whishing my gran would walk by and save the day. It’s not as if I could stop stirring and go look for her.

The last clue of fudge-making I had received was, do not let it boil, and let it heat slowly. Mine kept on boiling -_- And it would never in a million years reach the “Soft ball” temperature on the thermometer without boiling over (which is just below 120 degrees Celsius)

So I did the only thing a sensible person would do in this situation – Keep on stirring and don’t take advice!

So with my mixture at 105 degrees Celsius, and me slowly inching up the temperature, telling myself that the bubbles in the fudge does not mean that it’s boiling. . .  .I stirred.

I stirred until my hand cramped and my arm went spastic.

Then I got bored and risked not stirring for short intervals, trying to clean the mess in the kitchen (which involved carrying all the dishes to the sink).

That’s when I saw it. The cup of Milo I supposedly added, and had assured everybody that it had been added. By this time my gran was there to rescue what needed to be rescued.

Once again, I asked myself ‘What would any reasonable person in this situation do?’ . . . The Milo went into the pot.

A tip from an experienced baker: Drop a drop of fudge into a cup of cold water to test if it will harden.

By this time my nerves are shot. The fudge mixture doesn’t seem fudgy, and I have no idea if it will set. Then the mixture suddenly fudgefied. It literally got the same consistency as the fudge you see in the Fudge Shop when they prepare it on those big tables.

So, the mixture got scooped into a buttered pan and the pot got licked out.

Knowing my skill in the kitchen, I started preparing pudding ideas in my head for the failed fudge, but it turned out quite well. The copious amounts of cocoa broke the sweetness and the late Milo episode led to crunchy Milo yumminess with every bite.

All in all it was a good day and the fudge was delicious. Two weeks later I attempted this recipe again, with two pots, one using caramel treat and the other I added in nuts and cranberries.

I obviously remembered every ingredient, therefore not reading the recipe again. . . those last famous words led me to discover a way to make toffee. I mean, who would not confuse ¾ Cup with ¾ Kg butter, right?

fudge overloooooad

A special thanks to my gran for putting up with my stubbornness and to my boyfriend for stirring when my arms failed.”

 

What can I say, Ashley, this is totally the Venus de Milo of fudge!! 

{Milo Fudge rocks!}

{Milo Fudge rocks!}

 

Leave a Reply

