Happy Fathers Day, Pops!

Whoop Whoop! Look who’s getting all organized and posting things ahead of time! *jumps up and down pointing at self* Lately I find that I’m missing all sorts of self-imposed bloggy deadlines, no matter how many underlines or exclamation marks I make under and after things on my Anne Taintor calendar. I missed World Environment Day, World Ocean Day, MOTHERS DAY (I know – the shame!)… the list is endless. So when I saw Pie Pops in a DIY Wedding edition of my favourite magazine (Ideas; I got the wedding one by accident – when I flipped through it I noticed bunnies on cakes. Enough said)… I just knew that they would be perfect for Fathers Day!

an ode

Cake Pops are gorgeous, and I love them even though they are fiddly and a pain to make and look nothing like Bakerella’s EVER…. but they are extremely girly. Pie Pops, on the other hand, are simplicity itself to make and they are definitely less girly. Unless you make them heart-shaped. Which I did. I am a girl, after all. Plus these are easy enough to involve the kiddies too… except for the oven operation, of course.

pops for pops

Pie Pops aren’t actually a new idea, just another one that I somehow missed. Clearly, I live under a foodie rock. How do I miss these things??

Anyway. New. Not new. Who cares, they are adorable and I’ve managed to post this in time for you to go get a roll of shortcrust pastry and a jar of jam to make these for your own Pops on Fathers Day. Which is the 16th of June, don’t forget to put it on your calendar using a thick marker to make lots of underlines and exclamation marks…

you're a star

sweet heart

pressing matter

eggy wash

my heart runneth over

starstruck

pour some suga on me

stardust

For approximately 16 Sweet Nibblets-on-a-stick (8 of each variety):

400g ready-made shortcrust pastry – I used the frozen supermarket stuff. Mistake.

A few teaspoonsful of jam. Don’t bother with the posh whole fruit type.

Half a tart green apple, peeled and finely chopped

3 teaspoons castor sugar

1/2 teaspoon ground cinammon

1/2 teaspoon cake flour

A few squirts of lemon juice

Extra castor sugar

Cinnamon sugar (made with castor sugar)

An egg white, lightly beaten

Lollipop sticks/ice-cream sticks

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Roll the shortcrust pastry out until very thin but not to the point of emaciatedness. It shouldn’t tear easily, or resemble one of those girls from Fashion TV.

Anyway, pick out cookie cutter shapes and cut out even numbers (so that you have a top and bottom crust).

If you’re doing the apple filling, mix the apples, sugar, cinnamon, flour and enough lemon to moisten the lot. Easy peasy!

Place half of the pastry shapes on a lined cookie sheet, give the perimeter a quick brush with the eggy wash then lightly squish a lollipop stick into one end. Place a dollop of filling into the centre, then cover with another pastry shape and use the end of a spare lollipop stick to squidge the edges down – this is critical, so that the filling (especially the jam, which will boil and bubble) does not escape, although this is probably unavoidable.

Give the completed pops an eggy wash, then sprinkle liberally with either castor sugar, or cinnamon sugar before baking for 15-20 minutes. If the shapes you have made are quite pointy, keep an eye on them as they tend to burn a little more readily.

When they’re lovely and tanned golden-brown, let them rest for a few minutes before carefully moving them to a cooling rack. When they’ve cooled down, give them another go with the castor sugar or cinnamon sugar for extra flavour – the shortcrust I used was really bland so I needed the extra sweetness. I agree with Bakerella’s comments that they could be improved with a greater fruit:pastry ratio – next time, I’ll make my own sweet shortcrust pastry, roll it out even thinner and try out new fillings.

twinkle twinkle

Come on, let’s give the Old Farts a break from the Argyle-patterned socks and crunchy scrambled egg breakfasts. If you really want to go all out, I bet you little tiny Steak Pie Pops would totally make his day 🙂 (nope, sorry, haven’t tried them out because I’ve only just thought of them, dang nabbit).

heart pops

star pops

PS: Bakerella did not invent these – but she does credit this incredibly smart person (people?). OMW. The photography. The miniscule scoops. The labels. It’s almost spooky with everything appearing to float in this weird half-light in a laboratorial kitchen. I humbly kowtow to whoever is behind it.

9 July 2013:

FINALLY I found my copy of Ideas Magazine: DIY Weddings 2013 that first gave me the idea – check out their pie-pop wedding cake:

i do ... eat pops

4 thoughts on “Happy Fathers Day, Pops!

    • They’re Cutie-Pies!! I just realised that I missed World Naked Cycling Day on Saturday. Would have made for an interesting post.
      Also, today is Maurice Sendak’s birthday – one of my fav children’s books ever, I could have made Wild Things cupcakes!! Dang frikkin nabbit!

  1. I am really impressed along with your writing
    talents and also with the layout for your blog.

    Is that this a paid subject matter or did you modify it your self?
    Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a nice
    weblog like this one today..

    • Oh My Goodness, thanks for the positive feedback – i am absolutely blushing! 🙂
      My blog is purely for fun and does not make me any money (unfortunately – or not? i think possibly this would add an element of pressure).
      Look forward to hearing from you again in future!

Leave a Reply

