Five Things: Propose a Toast

It all started with a discussion about my new sleep-depriving obsession – making teeny tiny things out of gumpaste to embellish cupcakes. I’m not talking pretty pastel flowers – I’m talking random everyday objects… such as .. um… a towel (read Douglas Adams if you are feeling foncused right now. It seemed like a good idea at the time). It’s just amazing to me that using a bit of sugary squidginess one can create edible Barbie’s Dreamhouse* accessories. True, it probably tastes just like the plastic counterparts from Toys R Us, and it will stain your tongue for a worrying length of time, but it’s so nunu-pie-cute!! (pics coming soon…).

Somehow the discussion took a turn to those fake dishes of noodles that Asian restaurants use to try to explain the menu to us Westerners – you know, those creepily life-like bowls of food that look like steam should be coming off them. And from talking about fake noodles, I let slip my love of fake food. This began way, way back, many centuries ago, when I was a teen. I’d seen fake toast slices in a arty magazine, and decided that one day when I was all grown up and had an enormous house with room for a pony, I would tastefully embellish some of the tiles in my kitchen with fake toast slices. I haven’t grown up yet, but as soon as I do I’ll be getting me some faux toast.

Anyway, I digress. On a whim, I thought I’d check if fake toast tiles are even available… I had no idea that toast slices are such a popular theme:

{pity this turned out to be a hoax - it's an awesome idea}

{pity this turned out to be a hoax – it’s an awesome idea}

{hot buttered money}

{hot buttered money}

{knitted toast! that get turned into a buttered toast scarf!!}

{knitted toast! that gets turned into a buttered toast scarf!!}

{found my toast! it's even "soft-touch"}

{found my toast! it’s even “soft-touch”}

Well this is me outta here… this post is toast 🙂 (can’t help myself).

*Talking of Barbie’s Dreamhouse – did you hear the story about the real life-size one in Berlin, that was attacked by a nekkid woman who climbed up a fountain brandishing a burning crucified Barbie? And people say German’s are boring…

Leave a Reply

