Five Things: Couch-Potato Commerce

So here I am wrapped up in a warm woolly blanky on the couch and a steaming cuppa by my side, all thanks to a disgusting bout of flu. Now, other people may turn to chicken soup, large quantitis of Vitamin C, or possibly Meg Ryan/Tom Hanks movies to make them feel better – but I am a firm believer in retail therapy. I did a bit of research and found two awesome online shopping sites, all from the comfort of my cushy couch :-).

I first discovered mud studio at the March Collective in Kramerville (the Collective is a monthly pop-up shop – go to the next one on 2 June!) (Thanks Bronwen for the heads-up :-)); to be honest I enjoyed mud more than anything else. Everything they do is beyond gorgeous and perfect – I want everything in the “whisp” range, it’s all delicate colours and organic shapes, and it kind of looks like a ceramic crepe.

As for Kamers Vol Geskenke (“rooms full of gifts”) – I made a point of NOT going to the event in Irene just before Christmas last year because I knew I would be flat broke 2 minutes after walking through the door; I found out just this morning that they have an online shop and I’ve already ordered some goodies *guilty face*.

{Whisp from mud studio - it's incredibly thin, like a ceramic crepe!}

{Whisp from mud studio}

{weeny heart shaped containers from mud studio}

{weeny heart shaped containers from mud studio}

{never mind wooden spoon - check the wooden cutlery! from kamersvol}

{never mind wooden spoon – check the wooden cutlery! from kamersvol}

{loving these to bits... from kamersvol}

{loving these to bits… from kamersvol}

{when you're done spoiling the kitchen, spoil yourself with a pretty pendant from kamersvol...}

{when you’re done treating the kitchen, treat yourself with a pretty pendant from kamersvol…}

PS: Here’s one of the weirder things I saw at the Collective in March… love it! It’s labelled “traditional dhow” and I picture a crew of weatherbeaten old fishermen rowing along a fiercely flowing river in this bright green peapod, perched on the little cushions… never fails to give me a giggle.

dhow are you doing

07 December 2013: One year on and I cracked; Kamersvol was awesome, full of the things i sigh over in the glossy mags. Armed with the best of festive intentions (“i’m only here to find gifts for my granny and grandpa”) I emerged with a large shopping bag full of indulgent goodies for moi…

Leave a Reply

