Five Things: Happy Year of the Snake!

Kung Hei Fat Choi             (Cantonese)

Gong Xi Fa Cai                    (Mandarin)

So yes I am a little late with my well-wishes but they aren’t any less sincere. I was home on the coast with my two long-last BFF’s for a long weekend and Once Upon a Wooden Spoon was very close to the back of my mind, and that’s only because gym and healthy eating beat the blog to the deepest recesses.

I made the mistake of googling “snake recipes” and decided that it would not be kind to start out the Chinese New Year on this inauspicious note (the descriptions on how to prepare rattlesnake were somewhat stomach-unsettling), so here are a few ideas which I would love to try out in honour of the New Year (except for the snakebite – someone more adventurous is most welcome to give it a shot and report back to me!).

{snakebite - read these thoughts on the drink}

{snakebite – read these thoughts on the drink}

{pecan, walnut and honey snake cake}{pecan, walnut and honey snake cake}

{strawberry shortbread}

{strawberry shortbread}

{my favourite, and no preparation needed}

{my favourite, and no preparation needed}

3 thoughts on “Five Things: Happy Year of the Snake!

Leave a Reply

