Eat this, Salvador Dali

Salvador Dali’s Meditative Rose is one of my favourite paintings ever (close contenders are The Kiss by Gustav Klimt and a painting by my cousin Carmen – I am the proud owner of this original work of poster-paint on board). Last weekend I spent time in the garden trying to photograph my cats, but gave up when they insisted on turning their bottoms to the lens; instead, I turned to my afternoon snack.

And so I give you – Meditative Naartjie.

{Meditative Naartjie}

I love this photo.

I also loved the naartjie itself, which was sweet and juicy. From meditative, it evolved to munchable.

To continue in this artyfarty vein, here’s my version of William Carlos Williams’ poem:

I have eaten
the naartjies
that were in
the icebox

and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast

Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold

{all gone}

5 thoughts on “Eat this, Salvador Dali

  1. Btw you are my only international fan so far. Possibly also my only fan, I suspect it may be a bit too early to start a fan club and having special t-shirts printed.

Leave a Reply

